Action Packed Happy Hour

May 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

Waterloo Ice House Happy Hour: Monday – Friday from 4-7 p.m.

Entrance at Waterloo

When I am in the mood for Happy Hour and I try to think of a new and exciting place to explore, I have to admit, Waterloo Ice House was never a place that ranked high on my list. However, this just proves why judging a book by its cover is wrong. In the last four years that I have lived in Austin, I have probably passed Waterloo while I drive a few hundred times. Whenever I would pass it, I never paid much attention to it because I always thought it looked like it wouldn’t be a restaurant I would be interested in eating at or having drinks at. But then once I started this blogging project and became more curious about new and exciting places I could possibly explore to find the best Happy Hours in Austin, and boy was I wrong about Waterloo.

One day about two and a half weeks ago I was driving down 38th St. and my boyfriend who was visiting from out of town said, “wow, look at that place” and pointed to Waterloo. “We should go check out their Happy Hour for your project.” What caught my boyfriends’ attention was the crazy amounts of people that were standing on the upstairs deck of the restaurant, who looked like they were having an awesome time. Right then and there I realized that I had been looking so hard to find a new and exciting Happy Hour that I had overlooked a place that had been right underneath my nose this whole time. Waterloo was definitely the place to be that day and I realized it looked like an awesome place to check out their Happy Hours because clearly it had to be good since there were so many people there.

So I went in to Waterloo this week for Happy Hour and it turned out to be probably one of the most fun times I have ever had at Happy Hour throughout the whole process of this blogging project!

First I will start off with the prices. If you are a college student and you are on a budget, this is the place for you to make your new Happy Hour go-to spot. If you look at the picture below you can see a Happy Hour menu from Waterloo and what all of their specials are.

Happy Hour Menu

Next, I think it is important to talk about the up-beat atmosphere you will experience during Happy Hour at Waterloo, especially on Wednesdays. The crowd during Happy Hour usually consists of people ranging from all ages. It is basically full of people who are trying to let lose from a long day of work by enjoying good drinks and good company at Happy Hour.

While I was observing the scene at Waterloo and hanging out with my friends at the same time, I totally forgot I was attending the Happy Hour to cover it for the blog and thus totally forgot to take pictures of the scene. As a result, I will be attending Happy Hour again tomorrow night and will create a Soundslides of the evening so you can decide for yourself if this is a place you’d be interested in trying out for Happy Hour.

I would recommend this Happy Hour to anyone who is looking for a fun place to let lose and be loud with your friends while sipping on some tasty and inexpensive drinks! I definitely would give Waterloo a thumbs-up.

Waterloo Ice House — 1106 West 38th Street — Austin, TX 78705-1005 — (512) 467-8776

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Action Packed Happy Hour at The Frugal Drinker.

meta

