DIY wine-based drinks

May 2, 2011 § 2 Comments

I LOVE WINE. Ever since I studied abroad last year in Italy, I’ve been obsessed. While I love a glass of wine with my dinner (or without, haha), there are times when it’s just too heavy for me. While I can’t guarantee you the best wine-based drink recipes, I’m going to share two of my favorite, both of which I got spoiled with while traveling in Spain afterward.

The first is going to be the the well-trusted Sangria. While I have complained more times than not that it just tastes diluted and flavorless, there are times when I find it incredibly refreshing.

Spanish sangria contains lots of oranges. | Photo by Thu Pham

1 lemon
1 lime
2 oranges
1 cup rum (or club soda if you don’t want to mix your alcohols)
1 bottle red wine
1 cup orange juice
1/2 white sugar

Make sure all of the liquids, rum, wine and orange juice chilled before you start. Cut up the fruits into slices and throw them into a larger pitcher. If you’re doing it with rum, pour the rum and sugar into the pitcher with the fruit. Let it sit in the fridge for at least 2 hours. Afterward pour the wine and orange juice in to serve. Mix first, of course.

If you’re working with the club soda, I would just chill everything separately and then mix it when you’re ready to serve it.

Like with anything else, adjust the ingredients to your liking. I really enjoy the taste of oranges in this drink, so I always add a ton.

Calimocho consists of 50% red wine, 50% coke, and is 100% tasty. | Photo by Thu Pham

My next drink is mind-blowingly easy. Calimocho is a spanish drink that’s just coke and red wine. Yup, that’s it. The drink is incredibly easy to make: 50% red wine and 50% cola. I used a $10 bottle of Chianti, and it came out great.

§ 2 Responses to DIY wine-based drinks

  • Oh YUM.
    We’ve actually tried this around my place. It turned out pretty alright. Thanks for the post!

  • This post is really creative! I like how you broke out of the traditional style of posts on the blog. And I had sangria and calimocho quite often when I was in Spain, as well. Calimocho especially is good when you don’t want to spend a lot of money, but I got tired of it pretty quickly, especially because I’m not a big fan of coke to begin with. But these are great ideas nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading DIY wine-based drinks at The Frugal Drinker.

meta

