Sushi Zushi: happy hour for those with larger wallets

April 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

Fifth Street Commons (West Fifth); at the Domain

Mon-Fri 3-7pm
Draft beer $3
Hot sake $3
Wine and signature cocktails $5
Appetizers, comfort food and sushi rolls $2-$6

Cucumber saketini

I absolutely am the biggest sushi fan, but ever since I’ve been in college, I’ve had to drastically cut down because it’s so expensive. I’ve been dying to try a new sushi place for happy hour since Kyoto’s on Congress closed. A friend and I went to the Sushi Zushi location on West Fifth, near mopac, around 6:30. The décor was very modern and clean, and there was no wait. We found street parking right in front, but there is ample parking in the garage and behind the building.

The first thing you’ll notice when you sit down is how HUGE the regular menu is. Literally, it’s a 20”x16” sheet of paper covered with dishes in teeny-tiny font. It’s incredibly overwhelming. Lucky for us frugal drinkers, the happy hour menu is a fraction of the size.

I come to sushi happy hour more for the rolls than the drinks, primarily because I don’t really think anything alcohol-based complements sushi very

Spicy Tuna Roll, Key West Roll

well. However, on the suggestion of the waiter, who was very nice, my friend ordered a cucumber saketini and I had a blackberry smash. These drinks are almost a little too fancy for their own good—they’re very visually appealing, but don’t plan on getting a buzz with these. It might get pricey if you’re looking to get a buzz off of these drinks. The cucumber martini, which is the resturant’s most popular cocktail, tastes incredibly refreshingly and a little healthy. My blackberry tasted like carbonated fruit juice with a drop of liquor.

Blackberry Smash

Sushi Zushi’s happy hour menu is nowhere online, but includes several basic rolls, California, Philadelphia, and some of their appetizers. As an appetizer, I decided to try the Crawfish Dynamite which is baked crawfish served with masago caviar and spicy mayo. I found it to be tasty, but there was a lot of grease and the mayo overpowered the masago and caviar. For a $5 dish appetizer, it was very small, possibly meant for 1-2 people. We also tried the Key West Roll, which had shrimp tempura in it and it was mediocre. I probably won’t get it again if I go back. We also tried the spicy tuna roll, which I found to be much better than the Key West.

My friend and I decided to split a spicy octopus roll, which is not on the happy hour menu, and it was AMAZING. Incredibly simple with a focus on the octopus’s texture and the spicy mayo in it really brought out some good flavors. We wished it was on the HH menu.

This isn’t the cheapest of places, but it’s a good deal for sushi, which is always pricey. Next time, I want to get the cucumber saketini, the octopus roll, and the spicy salmon roll.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sushi Zushi: happy hour for those with larger wallets at The Frugal Drinker.

meta

