Zocalo Cafe offers small selection of frozen drinks

March 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

Everyday 3-6pm
$3 frozen sangria and frozen margaritas

$2.50 domestics / $3 imports
$9.99 appetizer platter

All-day drink specials on Wednesday, kitchen closes at normal hours but drinks are served until midnight
$2 frozen sangria, margaritas
$8 carafes

To kick-start this blog off, this frugal drinker is going to talk about her happy hour review of Zocalo Café, the modern Mexican restaurant located on West Lynn and 12th Street. I’ve never been to Zocalo’s, but I’ve heard good things about the food from friends and its sister restaurant, Galaxy Café, is one of my favorite places in Austin.

Frozen Margarita

I went on Wednesday to seize the $2 frozen drinks special with some friends. The moment I stepped in, the modern décor and Ikea-esque furniture definitely reminded me of the snazzy, fun décor of Galaxy Café. There was ample seating space inside and around 12-15 additional tables outside on the patio. The ordering style is a causal order-at-the-register, get a number and select a table, which I generally enjoy, but my friends and I waited in line for over 10 minutes before we finally made it to the front of the line.

Frozen sangria

The frozen drinks were served in a small wine glass. I was a bit underwhelmed by the size, but since it was only $2, I wasn’t going to complain—had it been $3 or regular price, I would opt out. The frozen sangria was well-balanced, not too diluted or wine-y, and the frozen margarita was a little more on the sweet side. Both drinks were not very strong.  The carafe is equal to, my estimate, 4-6 of the $2 drinks so if you have a larger group or want to drink more, I would suggest the $8 carafe. I think next time, I will get the frozen sangrita, which is a mixture of the two.

Overall, I give Zocalo a thumbs up for its Wednesday specials.  The atmosphere is great for a causal dinner, the service is mediocre at best, the food portion is a little under just-enough to fill you up (translation: pseudo-fancy food sizes), and the outdoor seating is a plus for this season.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Zocalo Cafe offers small selection of frozen drinks at The Frugal Drinker.

meta

